What Is $windows. bt? Should You Delete It? 5 Steps To Access It

The $Windows. ~BT Folder is a hidden folder on the root drive where the Windows OS is installed. When you upgraded your older Windows system to Windows 10, or upgraded Windows 10 to a new build, all folders and files related to your previous windows installation are saved in the $Windows.

Can I Delete ‘windows.old’ and ‘$Windows.~BT’ Folders after Upgrade from Windows 7 to Windows 10

What is $WINDOWS. BT?

Don’t freak out when you see a strange folder under the name $WINDOWS. BT ($WINDOWS.~BT to be exact) because it’s just one of the folders associated with the upgrade process to Windows 10 on your computer. In addition, it includes important log files to help with troubleshooting why an upgrade may have failed.

You may see the C:$WINDOWS.~BT in Windows 7, Windows 8, or Windows 10, which uses up gigabytes of your disk space. It’s worth noting that they are hidden files, meaning you have to show hidden files in File Explorer or Windows Explorer to see them.

How to check if the $WINDOWS. BT folder is on your computer

Before deciding whether or not to delete this folder, you have to make sure it actually exists on your device. As we stated before, the only way to do this is by showing hidden files on your computer, follow these steps.

  • Step 1: On your computer, choose the Start menu and search for Folder Options, then click on File Explorer Options.
  • Step 2: Click on View in the File Folder Options.
  • Step 3: Open Advanced settings > Files and Folders > Hidden files and folders. Now choose Show hidden files, folders, and drives and click on OK.
  • Step 4: Find the drive which your Windows OS is installed in. If the system on your computer has a restore backup, you will see the $WINDOWS. BT
  • $windows. bt folder windows 10?

    Deleting $Windows. ~BT

    $windows. bt folder windows 10?

    A lot of users have this doubt that whether we should delete this $Windows. BT folder or not, and if deleting, then how should that be done.

    Please Note: If you choose to delete the $WINDOWS.~BT folder on Windows 10, you won’t be able to downgrade to the previous version of Windows installed on your PC.

    If you want to delete these files, it is suggested that you should use the Disk Cleanup tool in your version of Windows.

    Step 1: To do so, you need to access the ‘Disk Cleanup tool’ and click on the ‘Clean Up System Files’ option.

    Step 2: From there, you need to check the following items mentioned below in that list and remove them:

    Previous Windows installation(s): Removing this will delete the $WINDOWS. BT and old folders on your Windows 10.

    Temporary Windows installation files: Removing this will delete the $WINDOWS.~BT folder on Windows 7 and 8, and the $WINDOWS.~WS folder on Windows 10.

    Step 3: Now you need to click on the ‘OK’ option to remove these files.

    You might also like: Linux Terminal For Windows: 6 Step Useful Guide (techsunk.com)

    OR

    Step 1: You need to press the ‘Windows + S’ buttons simultaneously to open the ‘Search bar’.

    Step 2: Once the search bar pops up, you need to type in ‘Disk Cleanup’ and click on the first option that appears on your screen.

    Step 3: Now you need to click on the dropdown that appears and select the drive where your Windows has been installed.

    Step 4: After you click on the drop-down and select the root drive, you need to click on the ‘OK’ option.

    Step 5: Then you need to select the ‘Clean Up System Files’ option.

    Step 6: You need to make sure that you check the ‘Previous Windows Installations’, ‘Windows Update Cleanup’, ‘Windows Upgrade Log Files’, and ‘Temporary Files’ and then click on the ‘OK’ option.

    Step 7: Now you need to wait for this process to get completed and then you will see that the folder will automatically be deleted from your system.

    You might also find Important Keyboard Shortcuts Everyone Should Know (techsunk.com) helpful.

    If the $WINDOWS. BT folder is still present, it will just contain a few spare log files or useless setup files on Windows 7 or 8 which you can try deleting manually from the ‘File Explorer’. All you need to do is, just right-click on it and select the ‘Delete option. ’

    This folder does not have any use in the daily operations of Windows. It is only used to update or to install back the previous versions of Windows. Therefore, if you aren’t planning on updating to the latest version of Windows or on going back to the previous version, it is safe and completely alright to delete the folder.

    https://www.howtogeek.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/img_57bdf571e579b.png?width=1198&trim=1,1&bg-color=000&pad=1,1

    Leave a Comment